Technically spe…

Technically speaking, I was still on active duty, serving in the US Army when Operation Desert Shield began. Although, I was on terminal leave I could have easily been snatched back to Fort Hood and sent anywhere by Uncle Sam. I remember biting my nails (and, I’m not ashamed to say it:hoping I wouldn’t be called back) as I moved into the dorm at Tyler Junior College. So, put bluntly: I missed the Gulf War by the skin of my teeth!

On this Memorial Day…….I salute all my brothers and sisters-in-arms who gave their lives in that war. Sometimes, patriotic events can be so cheesy and gauche, but trying to bring freedom to the oppressed isn’t cheesy at all…..it’s what good people try to do!

God bless America!

Leave a Reply

