Creator of……………

Sometimes in life, it’s the smallest little thing that speaks to us……a song, a painting…..or something even smaller than that. I read a lot of blogs……when Google decided to ditch Reader, I quickly discovered and transitioned over to The Old Reader…..but, I digress. Technically, let me jump back just a bit………..
A few weeks back, I decided that I would “assign” a life project to myself. I wanted to do something that would be a BIG thing…..something tangible, concrete…..one of those major bucket list sort of things. So after a little thought, I came up with it:

I will take and post in some public place(s) on the Interwebs……..500,000 photos of various places and things found in the state of Texas. My digital photographic mosaic of the Lonestar state and many of the places one might find therein. That was/is something I might focus on, creatively, for the remainder of my life. Starting such a thing at the age of 44 is not too awfully crazy. If I average about 10,000 photos per year for a while (which shouldn’t be too awfully hard)…..and then really pick up the pace after retirement, I should meet that goal! A creativity footprint. Something meaty and solid that might live on forever. I liked the thought of that.

I am a social worker, and I like what I do…..I believe in what I do……but a close friend said to me years ago, that the only thing we really leave behind in this world is what we create…….that stuck with me.
I have done a poor job of stoking the fires of creativity within myself for a long time…..and I’m stopping it. I’m stopping it with the photo project…..I’m stopping it in many ways.

Along those very same lines, I was reading a guy’s blog today, and his little bio read something like: John Smith, creator of (yada-yada-yada)……[small comics, web comics etc. etc. etc]…..and it sparked me to think, “Y’know, when you reach the end of your life, it would be nice to say, “[Your name here]….creator of ‘this’ and ‘that’ and ‘the other thing’.” It was silly, really, but it got my juices flowing. I want to’ve created some “stuff” in my lifetime. I want to look back and see the stuff I wrote. The people to whom I meant something. The music, art etc. I’d created. I want it to be obvious that I was here….y’know what I mean? So, here’s the first photo I posted (at Wikimedia Commons, by-the-way)…..this is the very first one since my big idea:

Lindsey_Park_Disc_Golf_course_sign

Yeah….I know….it’s a sign…..but it’s a sign found in a park located in Tyler, Texas! I’m a creator……and that’s something to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

