Harlequin novels……for dudes

I don’t really know what their larger status is, but……………remember the old Harlequin romance novels….? They were hot in the 80’s! I was watching a YouTube video recently……and this guy was saying some stuff about them…..and women’s propensity to believe their own romantic lives are supposed to be like those absurd stories…..not saying I agree with everything, but at least the guy was articulate and entertaining.

Point is……..he got me to thinking. Laying ‘romance’ aside for the moment……..men have their version of fantasies and ballyhoo. We can believe a lot of kooky stuff about money/achievement/career advancement……we really can. Mind you, this completely applies to me! A great deal of my stuff was built on a bedrock of naive childishness……consequently, in my very early adulthood, I held many fanciful ideas about what I would achieve academically, and then financially. LONG before he was elected, I would say that I’d envisioned myself becoming an amalgation of Dr. Phil McGraw and Donald Trump. Guess what? That didn’t happen! But: other stuff did! …and much of it was GREAT!

Leave a comment